Skip to content

Whose Translation?

December 4, 2009

I’ve generally tried to be much more devout in my religious beliefs since I’ve become a Catholic.  So on that note, with all due respect to my Protestant brethren, I find such a great comfort in the assurance I have in my Church and their approval of our Bible translations.  That way I can discern for myself but also have assurance in an absolute translation of a Bible that is approved by a body of members whose authority comes directly from Christ.  That way I don’t have to guess and wonder about a translation that just anyone throws out there for you to try and believe.

Also, I would like to note for all of my Protestant brothers who aren’t aware or dispute the fact, that even a mainstream article like this does point out the fact that the Catholic Church decided the canon of Scripture in the 4th century, and more importantly that Martin Luther did in fact try to remove the book of James from the Bible because it contradicts the Protestant believe in Sola Fide or Faith Alone (without works).  I think that offers a lot of food for thought to understand that the Catholic Church gave us the Bible and that Sola Fide was not a Biblical concept.
Anyway… here’s the news article and I felt almost afraid of the uncertainty in reading a version of Sacred Scripture that someone else so casually ‘translates’  based on their preconceived beliefs.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_rel_conservative_bible

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

